The Joel Tudor Duct Tape International, Noosa

This Friday March 15th, sixteen of the world’s best longboard surfers will express their uniquely progressive surf style in a series of heats, before competition ramps up for finals on Saturday, March 16th. With a $10,000 USD prize purse up for grabs Noosa will watch on as defending title owner and Noosa local Harrison Roach, past winners Alex Knost and Tyler

Warren of California, Floridian Justin Quintal and other longboard specialists such as Californians Jared Mell and Ryan Burch hit the waves to contest the revered title. New invitees to watch include Noosa locals Jai Lee and Matt Cuddihy plus a local wildcard entrant who will be announced Thursday, March 14th.

Spectators of the event can expect to see inventive surf style along with classic noseriding that harkens back to surfing’s early years, featuring progressive techniques only today’s most talented surfers can bring.

Noosa marks the seventh event in the Joel Tudor Duct Tape series, with each stop taking place at famous global surf spots. Quintal won the inaugural contest at the 2010 East Coast Surfing Championships in Virginia Beach, followed by another win in late fall waves in Montauk, New York’s Ditch Plains. Three Duct Tape contests were held in 2011 with Knost winning at Steamer Lane in Santa Cruz, Warren taking out the title at the Salinas Longboard Festival in Spain and Knost again pacing the field at Surfrider Beach in Malibu later that year. Closing out the summer in 2012, Australian Harrison Roach took first in the latest competition held in Biarritz, France.

Contest Invitees Include:
Harrison Roach, Alex Knost, Robbie Kegel, Tyler Warren, Ryan Burch, James Parry, Dane Peterson, Justin Quintal, Zye Norris, Jared Mell, Matty Chojnacki, Jai Lee,Thomas Bexon, Matt Cuddihy, Troy Elmore and a local wildcard to be announced.